In 158 Words: Amar Sonar Bangla, My Golden Bengal!

Old photographs embroidered in threads of new words and whose count equals to my height measurement in centimetres…

Abba would often sing out loud the national anthem of my homeland, “Amar  Sonar Bangla”. Sometimes in the kitchen, other times in the car and, quite often, whilst just simply sat on the settee, and on all occasions I would instinctively sway my head to and fro. I noticed that though he continuously made a pitiful hash of every other song, the national anthem was consistently immune. Perhaps it was a song forged out of an incorruptible spirit so that the tune always flowed out with the natural desire to reach the heart of the listener with intact virtuosity.

I cannot explain why it is that as a child, who did not speak fluent Bangla, that I should have felt a deep strangeness and unputdownable sense of familiarity in the imageries evoked of fertile green paddy fields and the besieging enchantments of Spring.

I am certain it is a love letter destined to follow me in every incarnation… ♥♥♥    

 

Abba & My Orange Vision Veena-Oculars

“… Oh I lost interest in dolls rather quickly which Abba foresaw from the start, So he bought me a pair of Veena-Oculars to appease my explorer’s heart…”

 

Photography & Poem Originally Posted In: ‘Abba & My Orange Vision Veena-Oculars’ | © Masufa Khatun | Mazzy Khatun Photo Stories | UK 1983/2014
Words: © Masufa Khatun | Mazzy Khatun Photo Stories | UK 2016

3 comments

  1. Ajaz Ahmed · March 27, 2016

    Ahhhh…tumi Bangla!!😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mazzy · March 27, 2016

      Dear Sir Ajaz! 😀 😀 😀

      Ji oy, ami ekta Bangalan! 😀 Oh dear, I do beg your pardon and seek atonement should my Bangla sound maddeningly shoddy to your fluent ears, as since living in England and in a town sparsely populated by Bengali people, it has left me rather deficient in my mastery of the Mother tongue! But, in hindsight, I suppose I quite fancy my predicament, for it implies that there must be a teacher out there, somewhere – albeit a fearless one to work with the likes of me! – and who without thought of consequence would not hold back in setting this 158cm teacher some special homework of her own! 😀

      May the week ahead see your pen generate such words ranked high in the extremities of the imagination, heart and mind, that all your readers develop a chronic case of pleasurable ‘mata noshto’ syndrome!

      Leaving the virtual stage with a bow of gratitude and the warmest of blessings to you Sir!
      Mazzy 😀 😀 😀

      Like

  2. Ajaz Ahmed · March 27, 2016

    Ahhh……… Tumi Bangla!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

