Travelling Light Years With My Telescope!

A white classic of optics, my TAL pal is Russian without a six-pack
We are the spy of the stars, quiet gypsies travelling umpteen light years back
Achromatic refractor, the fruits of scholars Netherland today vigil in my hands
I wonder if You’re spying on me too – yes You – from distant Tatooine sands…

EPILOGUE:  On October 24th 1982 a pioneering sci-film was aired on British television that would go on to make ground-breaking cinematic history. It does not matter if You are not a fan, You will have guessed it right anyway: STAR WARS: A NEW HOPE! In terms of my own evolving story, this was to be the single fundamental experience that sealed my Destiny with the field of astronomy forever. A love affair sparked to life, and soon afterwards my bookshelves were brilliantly filled to the summit with texts and manuals on the subject. To my Amma’s (Mother) prickly annoyance, the walls of my bedroom were not spared, they were outspokenly embellished with star charts and film posters of every space movie to grace our screens! My watch, my lunchbox and flask, my pencils and pens, my t-shirts were all conscripted into the Alliance! While other little girls were playing with their dolls and concerned themselves with dresses and make-up – perfectly nice things of course – I was far more at ease camping out in the garden with my arcane interstellar charts, looking up at the stars… :))

LINK: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTNJ51ghzdY

Travelling Light Years With My Telescope!

“… Achromatic refractor, the fruits of scholars Netherland today vigil in my hands
I wonder if You’re spying on me too – yes You – from distant Tatooine sands… “

Photography & Poem: © Masufa Khatun | Mazzy Khatun Photo Stories | Winchester | UK 2015

Leave a Reply

