I Was There For You Once

I was there for you once, my Heart, as they lugged your body to the cross
And the Beast watched amidst crowd, eyes filled with black river’s toss
Your Mother wept silent tears whilst I, devoted Mirium
Whispered my Lord’s prayers, a nightingale’s requiem
Fire struck Heaven as each word of mine shook God’s throne:
“My Love stood by Your side then why this burden on him alone?
For I demand I too shall carry and bear the cross of this world
And my Faith as strong as his, none to order it unfurled”
My Lord replied in deep tongue that was writ in purest Light
Assured my Love and I shall be reborn with every time’s flight
When the world grows dark and the Beast rides her nightly chariot black
So shall I and my Love rise, in flames of hope, neither to look back…

I Was There For You Once

“… When the world grows dark and the Beast rides her nightly chariot black
So shall I and my Love rise, in flames of hope, neither to look back… “

Photography & Poem: © Masufa Khatun | Mazzy Khatun Photo Stories | Winchester | UK 2015

Leave a Reply

