Narnia In My Mind

I am willing to challenge with cheery cheekiness the establishment of explorers everywhere and declare that the most enchanting streets, lanes and pathways are to be found right under our noses – well, above, to be precise. In our heads, in that gooey jelly that you would quite happily not want to associate yourself with if someone were to present it to you in a clinical jar, is the most intricate piece of architecture known to Itself – the human brain and, its soul, the elusive untouchable jewel of all mysteries that is the mind and which to this day is the source of many head-scratching debates between scientists, philosophers, artists and curious folk alike.

I have no inclination whatsoever at this moment to produce an unsightly dissection of a brain or pull up a cognitive map of the neuronal pathways taken from some of the most advanced instruments available to modern science. Fascinating though these perspectives of analysis are, and to me they have been as such since I am a Psychology graduate but, more so than the academic, I am a relentless dweller of the imaginative mind. Like my fellow Oxfordian and the great polymath, Lewis Carroll, I too exercise the morning habit of conjuring up six impossible things! What a wonderful way to nourish the soul of the mind! After many years of such conditioning, I can proudly say that I am able to draw an impression of my imaginative universe and thankfully, my humble photography skills can be of service here. One chilly morning, on my walks, I came across these tiny snowdrop-like flowers growing out from an old brick wall. They appeared to me like the stringy neuronal pathways of the human brain, except, they twinkled with enchanting secrets, as if a whole undiscovered land lay buried along its canals.

 

Narnia In My Mind

“They appeared to me like the stringy neuronal pathways of the human brain, except, they twinkled with enchanting secrets, as if a whole undiscovered land lay buried along its canals…”

 

Immediately I knew that I had been gifted with a symbolic representation of my own creative mind. It was a land that I had travelled back and forth since childhood, a place where I could endow animals to talk and let eternal winters to reign, where the Faith of one little girl, burning as bright as the flame of a lamppost, can change the course of history…

 

Photograph & Words: © Masufa Khatun | Mazzy Khatun Photo Stories | UK 2014  

Leave a Reply

